PRINT QUALITY CONTROL

IMAGES

Color images print quality control can be carried out either by learning a reference (golden) document in the machine, or by comparison with the original PDF print file (after geometric and colorimetric calibration). Axode solutions allow the detection of printing defects, color shift, at very high resolution and on large formats, while tolerating deformations coming from paper, transport, reasonable tolerances for color registration, etc.

COLOR REGISTRATION

All printing presses (offset, digital, etc.) must control the registration of the primary colors they use. Axode software can detect registration errors that the discerning eye can detect (typically 200 µm) but also measure deviations with the precision of a drop (typically 20 µm) and transmit in real time a correction instruction to the inkjet controller (close loop).

PRINT QUALITY

Print quality control is essential in digital printers because of their potential hazards: missing jets, permanent jets, color misalignment, heads misalignment, contrast, etc. There are many verification methods, such as checking specific printed patterns. But unlike offset, 2 "good" pages can frame a defective page. If the printed content is sensitive and variable, then all printed pages should be 100% verified against the original PDF file.

SPECIAL & INVISIBLE INKS

The use of special inks is systematic on security documents as protection against counterfeiting (invisible fluorescent ink, infrared reactive, heat reactive, etc.). Given that they must be applied by printing stations or dedicated inkjet heads, they require specific control cameras, both to check their characteristics and guarantee their purpose (presence, position, intensity, compliance, etc).

ovi1.png

OVI

Optical variable inks are used in security documents to print objects, shapes, logos, and to protect these documents against counterfeiting. The printing of these shapes constituting a specific step in the printing process, it is necessary to check their conformity (presence, position, color) and especially the print quality (lack or excess of ink on the outline of the object).

CLI.png

CLI/MLI

The transparent outer layers of identity cards and datapages allow the integration of security marks in the thickness of the material, whether in depth (engravings, micro-text, etc.) or in superthickness (CLI/MLI, touch effect elements, etc.). The CLI/MLI is a high-resolution lens allowing the laser customization of 2 interlaced images, and requires specific high-resolution control to guarantee the optical qualities (regularity, compliance, no crushing, burns, etc.).

Transparence.png

TRANSPARENT SECURITY WINDOW

Due to their multilayer structure, identity cards can form a specific security element: by making cuts in the inner printed layers, the outer laminated layers provide a transparent window. By working with lamination layers, this window can be transformed into a lens. It is therefore necessary to check the characteristics of this window (presence, position, quality, transparency) but also to validate the correct alignment of the internal printed layers.

Hologramme.png

HOLOGRAMS

Being particularly difficult to counterfeit, holograms are a very widely used security element on security documents. Their complex optical behavior, the technology of their network, the type of support (transparent or metalized) implies a camera control with particular and multiple means. Whether it is in rolls at the manufacturer, during the application at the printer, it is necessary to check the presence, position, contrast, image quality, quality of the application, centering of the image, etc.

BandMagnetique.JPG

MAGNETIC TAPE

The application of magnetic tape on a plastic card can generate errors inherent in the process of applying a magnetic film on its carrier: position, linearity, tears, application of excess particles, absence of the magnetic layer, surface condition of the substrate, presence of a foreign object, etc. The control can be carried out on cards, or on complete web before cutting.

Embossage.png

EMBOSSING, ENGRAVINGS, EMBOSSING AND BRAILLE

Some paper or plastic documents allow surface work to include security elements: embossed bank cards, deeply engraved texts or images, touch-sensitive embossing, Braille coding of medication boxes, etc.  Axode’s principle of acquiring surface finish images allows the control of this information by variation of thickness, which makes it possible to validate its quality, position and legibility.

VernisSelectif-1.jpg

SELECTIVE VARNISH

The application of a varnish layer on a printed document improves its aesthetic appearance by a slight glossy effect, especially if it is a selective varnish, that is to say covering only certain parts or objects in the document (images or text). With a surface finish analysis camera, Axode can control the presence of varnishing, the quality (too low or too generous application) and the integrity of the varnish image. But above all the correct alignment of the varnished image with the printed image.

CUTTING

The cutting of documents is finishing operation which is found in multiple processes: cutting of plastic cards in a production in sheets, cutting of windows or logos in a security document, stripping of labels produced in rolls, etc. This operation requires an on-line control such as presence and quality of the cuts, centering of the printing, etc. The cutting is often accompanied by a folding and gluing on-line which also requires a control: glue points, control of the dimensions, quality of edges (lack of fibers), etc.

LAMINATION

The production of plastic cards requires the verification of the surface finish of the outer layers. Axode lamination control cameras use a special technique to accurately visualize and verify the surface of the card. This control detects the presence of defects that would not be visible to the naked eye: impacts, scratches, thickness variations around the RFID chip, but also allows to check the compliance of any marking, embossing, micro-text, etc.

APPLICATION

The automatic application of objects on a document is used in many markets: holograms, safety labels, scratch-off labels, perfume samples, discount coupons, etc. In all cases a position control is essential. For some products, such as prepaid cards or gift cards, the card and its carrier document are serialized and matching must be verified in real time against a database.

CONTACT SMART CHIP

The "smart chip" is integrated into a machined cutting in the thickness of a plastic card. If the content control requires dedicated machines allowing the application of contact smart chips in the machine cycle, the camera control can, even at high speed, check the position, shape, depth of the cutting provided for this purpose, then the presence, position and orientation of the chip after application.

PERFORATION

The perforation of a document is either functional (micro-perforation for the precut of a cheque, a coupon, perforation of stamps' sheets) or a security mark (customization of passports, identity documents). In any case it requires verification of its alignment with the print, and the quality of each through hole.

BandeHolograhique.png

HOLOGRAPHIC TAPE

As an alternative to unitary holograms, the application of a continuous metalized holographic tape makes it possible to include a holographic object on small, continuously produced documents. For example, tax labels for cigarette packages. The camera control consists in verifying that the operator uses the right tape, but above all in detecting errors resulting from the application itself: position, linearity, tears.

CONTRÔLE QUALITÉ D'IMPRESSION

IMAGES

Le contrôle qualité d’impression d'images en couleur peut s’effectuer soit par l’apprentissage en machine d’un document de référence, soit par comparaison avec le fichier PDF imprimable (après calibration géométrique et colorimétrique). Les solutions Axode permettent la détection des défauts d’impression, des dérives de couleur, à très haute résolution et sur des grands formats, tout en tolérant les déformations liées au papier, au transport, aux tolérances raisonnables d'alignement des couleur, etc.

REGISTRATION COULEUR

Toutes les presses d’impression (offset, numériques, etc) doivent contrôler l’alignement des couleurs primaires qu’elles utilisent. Les logiciels Axode permettent de détecter les erreurs de registration que l’œil avisé peut déceler (typiquement 200 µm) mais aussi mesurer les déviations avec la précision d’une goutte (typiquement 20 µm) et transmettre en temps réel une consigne de correction en boucle fermée au contrôleur jet d’encre.

QUALITÉ D'IMPRESSION

Le contrôle qualité d’impression est essentiel dans les imprimantes numériques du fait de leurs potentiels aléas : jets manquants, jets permanents, désalignement des couleurs, désalignement des têtes, contraste, etc. Les méthodes de contrôle sont nombreuses, comme par exemple la vérification de patterns imprimés spécifiques. Mais à la différence de l’offset, 2 pages dites "bonnes" peuvent encadrer une page défectueuse. Si le contenu imprimé est sensible et variable, alors toutes les pages imprimées doivent être vérifiées à 100% par comparaison avec le fichier PDF d’origine.

ENCRES SPÉCIALES & INVISIBLES

L’utilisation d’encres spéciales est systématique sur les documents de sécurité comme protection contre la contrefaçon (encre invisibles fluorescentes, réactives à l’infrarouge, réactives à la chaleur, etc). Etant donné qu’elles doivent être déposées par des stations d’impression ou des têtes jet d’encre dédiées, elles nécessitent des caméras de contrôle spécifiques, à la fois pour en vérifier les caractéristiques et garantir leur finalité (présence, position, intensité, conformité, etc).

OVI

Les encres OVI (Optical variable inks) sont utilisées dans les documents de sécurité pour imprimer des objets, formes, logos, et protéger ces documents contre les contrefaçons. L’impression de ces formes constituant une étape spécifique du process d’impression, il est nécessaire d’en vérifier la conformité (présence, position, couleur) et surtout la qualité d’impression (manque ou excès d’encre en périphérie de l’objet).

CLI

Les couches extérieures transparentes des cartes plastiques identitaires et des datapages permettent l’intégration de marques de sécurité dans l’épaisseur de la matière, que ce soit en profondeur (gravures, micro-texte, etc) ou en surépaisseur (CLI/MLI, éléments à effet tactile, etc). Le CLI/MLI est une lentille haute résolution permettant la personnalisation laser de 2 images entremêlées, et nécessite un contrôle spécifique haute résolution pour en garantir les qualités optiques (régularité, conformité, absence d’écrasement, de brulures, etc).

FENÊTRE TRANSPARENTE DE SÉCURITÉ

De par leur structure multicouches, les cartes plastiques identitaires peuvent former un élément de sécurité spécifique : en effectuant des découpes dans les couches imprimées intérieures, les couches laminées extérieures constituent une fenêtre transparente. Par le travail des couches de lamination, cette fenêtre peut être transformée en lentille. Il est donc nécessaire de vérifier les caractéristiques de cette fenêtre (présence, position, qualité, transparence) mais aussi de valider la bonne superposition des couches imprimées internes.

HOLOGRAMMES

Etant particulièrement difficiles à contrefaire, les hologrammes sont un élément de sécurité très largement utilisé sur les documents de sécurité. Leur comportement optique complexe, la technologie de leur réseau, le type de support (transparent ou métallisé) implique un contrôle caméra avec des moyens particuliers et multiples. Que ce soit en bobines chez le fabricant, lors de la pose chez l’imprimeur, il faut en vérifier la présence, la position, le contraste, la qualité d’image, la qualité de la dépose, le centrage de l’image, etc.

BANDE MAGNÉTIQUE

La dépose d’une bande magnétique sur une carte plastique peut générer des erreurs inhérentes au processus de dépose d’un film magnétique sur son support : position, linéarité, déchirures, dépôt de particules excédentaires, absence de la couche magnétique, état de surface du support, présence d’un corps étranger, etc. Le contrôle peut s’effectuer sur les cartes unitaires, ou sur les planches complètes avant découpe.

EMBOSSAGE, GRAVURES, GAUFRAGE ET BRAILLE

Certains documents papier ou plastique permettent un travail de surface pour y inclure des éléments de sécurité : cartes bancaires embossées, textes ou images gravées en profondeur, gaufrage sensible au toucher, codage braille des boites de médicaments, etc. Le principe d’acquisition d’images d'état de surface d’Axode permet le contrôle de ces informations par variation d’épaisseur, ce qui permet d’en valider la qualité, la position et la lisibilité.

VERNIS SÉLECTIF

La dépose d’une couche de vernis sur un document imprimé en améliore le rendu esthétique par une légère brillance, et ce d’autant plus s’il s'agit de vernis sélectif, c’est-à-dire recouvrant uniquement certaines parties ou objets dans le document (images ou texte).

Avec une caméra d’analyse d’état de surface, Axode peut contrôler la présence du vernissage, la qualité (couche trop faible ou trop généreuse) et l’intégrité de l’image du vernis. Mais surtout l’alignement correct de l’image vernis avec l’image imprimée.

DÉCOUPE

La découpe de documents est une opération de façonnage qui se retrouve dans de multiples process : découpe de cartes plastiques dans une production en planches, découpe de fenêtres ou de logos dans un document de sécurité, échenillage de labels produits en bobine, etc. Cette opération nécessite un contrôle en ligne tel que présence et qualité des découpes, centrage de l'impression, etc. La découpe s’accompagne souvent d’un pliage et collage en ligne qui nécessite lui aussi un contrôle : points de colle, contrôle des dimensions, de la qualité des bordures (absence de fibres), etc.

LAMINATION

La production de cartes en plastique nécessite la vérification de l’état de surface des couches externes. Les caméras de contrôle de la lamination Axode utilisent une technique particulière permettant de visualiser et vérifier avec précision la surface de la carte. Ce contrôle détecte la présence de défauts qui ne seraient pas visibles à l'œil nu : impacts, rayures, variations d’épaisseur autour du chip RFID, mais permet également de vérifier la conformité de tout marquage, gravure en relief, micro-texte, etc.

DÉPOSE

La dépose automatique d’objets sur un document est utilisée dans de nombreux marchés : hologrammes, labels de sécurité, labels scratch-off, échantillons de parfum, coupons de réduction, etc. Dans tous les cas un contrôle de position est indispensable. Pour certains produits, comme par exemple les cartes prépayées ou cartes cadeaux, la carte et son document porteur sont sérialisés et l’appairage doit être vérifié en temps réel par rapport à une base de données.

PUCE CONTACT

 La puce contact « smart chip » est intégrée dans un logement usiné dans l’épaisseur d’une carte plastique. Si le contrôle du contenu nécessite des machines dédiées permettant la dépose de contacts dans le cycle machine, le contrôle caméra peut, même à haute cadence, vérifier la position, forme, profondeur de l'usinage prévu à cet effet, puis la présence, position et orientation de la puce après dépose.

PERFORATION

La perforation d’un document est soit fonctionnelle (micro-perforation pour la prédécoupe d’un chèque, d’un coupon, perforation des planches de timbres) soit une marque de sécurité (personnalisation des passeports, des documents d’identité). Dans tous les cas elle nécessite la vérification de son alignement avec l’imprimé, et la qualité de chaque trou traversant.

BANDE HOLOGRAPHIQUE

Comme alternative aux hologrammes unitaires, la dépose d’une bande holographique métallisée continue permet d’inclure un objet holographique sur des documents de petite taille, produits en continu. Par exemple des labels de taxe pour les paquets de cigarette. Le contrôle par caméra consiste à vérifier que l’opérateur utilise le bon produit, mais surtout à détecter les erreurs issues du principe de dépose : position, linéarité, déchirures.